Laws across the US prohibit minors from purchasing or consuming alcohol, and this is no exception in California. In a similar vein, it is also illegal for adults to provide alcohol to minors in most states. Given that the holidays are upon us, we thought this would be a good time to explore this issue. For this post, we’re looking at the consequences and criminal penalties that adults can expect to face in CA if they choose to give alcohol to minors.
Penalties for Individuals who Furnish Alcohol to Minors
While some states are a bit more lax about parents allowing minors to consume alcohol at home, California is not one of those states. Parents who allow kids to imbibe at home could be found guilty of a misdemeanor offense that is punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 as well as potential jail time (up to one year).
Outside the home, it is a crime in California to contribute to the delinquency of a minor. This applies to those who provide alcohol to minors, including other minors themselves. A misdemeanor crime, this is punishable by a fine of up to $2,500 and up to 12 months of jail time.
Penalties for Businesses who Furnish Alcohol to Minors
Business owners all across California should understand that these penalties also apply to them if their business provides alcohol to minors within their premises. This is also true even when the business owner was not aware that the person was a minor. Worse yet, business owners could face much harsher penalties if the underage person who was provided alcohol in the premises goes on to have an accident that causes serious bodily injury or even death.
As the holiday season ramps up, think twice about who you’re (willingly or accidentally) furnishing alcohol to, either during your free time or while at work. With that being said, if you’re looking for more information, don’t hesitate to call the experienced criminal defense attorneys at the Jacot Law Firm.
We offer free initial consultations, so don’t delay and call us at 209-463-1800 at your earliest convenience.